Islamic Countries

Islamic States

An Islamic state is a political area, usually a country, that uses Sharia law as its basis for government, laws, and social norms. It is often considered a theocracy. The idea comes from the ancient Caliphate, which included areas ruled by religious leaders thought to be successors of prophet Muhammad (pbuh). Today, an Islamic state may include modern political traditions, such as having a parliament or a President. These countries have used Islamic law to define every area of government, including the Constitution. The major Islamic states are Iran, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Afghanistan, Mauritania, and Yemen.

Neutral Muslim Majority Countries

In a neutral Muslim-majority country, the population is overwhelmingly Muslim without Islam being the state religion. These nations include Niger, Indonesia, Sudan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sierra Leone, and Djibouti.

Secular Muslim Majority Countries

In secular Muslim majority countries, the majority of the population identifies as followers of Islam. The government, however, has declared a separation of religion and state. This declaration means that religion should neither interfere nor influence civil and political affairs. These countries include Albania, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Burkina Faso, Chad, The Gambia, Guinea, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Mali, Northern Cyprus, Nigeria, Senegal, Syria, Lebanon, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turkey, and Uzbekistan.

Islamic States/Countries With Islam As State Religion % Of Population That Is Muslim
Afghanistan 99.8
Iran 99.7
Mauritania 100
Pakistan 96.4
Saudi Arabia 97.1
Yemen 99
Algeria 98.2
Egypt 90
Iraq 98.9
Jordan 93.8
Kuwait 74.1
Libya 96.6
Malaysia 61.4
Maldives 100
Morocco 99
Somalia 98.9
Tunisia 99.8
United Arab Emirates 76
Brunei Darussalam 67
Lebanon 59.7

Recent Posts


March 2019
« May