Halal Food

It is well known in the meat trade that Muslims consume halal meat. However, at times questions are asked, What is halal? In Arabic it simply means permissible or allowed. Opposite to it is haram, which means forbidden or not allowed. The Halal Food Authority rules for halal are based on Islamic Shari’ah.

 

Halal foods are those that are:

  1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law (Shariah).
  2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered halal except the following (which are haram):

  • Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
  • Non-Halal Animal Fat
  • Enzymes* (Microbial Enzymes are permissible)
  • Gelatine* – from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)
  • L-cysteine (if from human hair)
  • Lard
  • Lipase* (only animal lipase need be avoided)
  • Non-Halal Animal Shortening
  • Pork, Bacon / Ham and anything from pigs
  • Unspecified Meat Broth
  • Rennet* (All forms should be avoided except for plant / microbial /
  • synthetic – rennet obtained from halal slaughtered animal is
  • permissible).
  • Stock* (a blend of mix species broth or meat stock)
  • Tallow* (non-Halal species)
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals
  • Foods contaminated with any of the above products
(*May be consumed if derived from Halal animals.)

Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, and flavours are questionable, because the origin of these ingredients is not known.

In the meat and poultry food industry, animals such as cows, veal, lamb, sheep, goats, turkeys, chickens, ducks, game birds, bison, venison, etc, are considered halal, but they must be prepared according to Islamic laws in order for their meat to be suitable for consumption.

Fish and seafood (with the exception of crocodiles, alligators and frogs) are generally acceptable for Muslims but as always check first, as there may be a personal dietary preference or allergy. The preparation of the fish or seafood should not include alcohol (ie batter or wine, or anything considered haram).

In cases of necessity, prohibited things may become permissible (halal) for the duration of the emergency or need, as Islam puts a priority on life over death. Refer to Qur’an at Chapter 2:173 (Al Baqarah).

Help us to map worldwide all the best Halal Food markets/restaurants etc. in all continents!


Recent Posts

Categories

August 2018
M T W T F S S
« May    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031