E numbers

E numbers

Category : Food

E-Numbers represent specific food additives, used by the food industry in the manufacture of various food products. These E-Numbers have been formulated by the European Economic Community (EEC) and are universally adopted by the food industry worldwide.
It is known that many E-numbers contain unlisted haram ingredients in them. Generally additives derived from animals and insects.
E-numbers are reference numbers used by the European Union to facilitate identification of food additives. All food additives used in the European Union are identified by an E-number. The “E” stands for “Europe” or “European Union”. Normally each food additive is assigned a unique number, though occasionally, related additives are given an extension (“a”, “b”, or “i”, “ii”) to another E-number.
The Commission of the European Union assigns e-numbers after the additive is cleared by the Scientific Committee on Food (SCF), the body responsible for the safety evaluation of food additives in the European Union. The convention for assigning E-numbers is:

100-199 food colors
200-299 preservatives
300-399 antioxidants, phosphates, and complexing agents
400-499 thickeners, gelling agents, phosphates, humectants, emulsifiers
500-599 salts and related compounds
600-699 flavor enhancers
700-899 not used for food additives (used for feed additives)
900-999 surface coating agents, gases, sweeteners
1000-1399 miscellaneous additive
1400-1499 starch derivatives

E-numbers are only used for substances added directly to food products, so contaminants, enzymes and processing aids, which may be classified as additives in the USA, are not included in the E-number system.
There is an EU directive on food labeling which requires food additives to be listed in the product ingredients whenever they are added for technological purposes. This includes coloring, sweetening and favor enhancement as well as for preservation, thickening, emulsifying and the like. Ingredients must be listed in descending order of weight, which means that are generally found close to the end of the list of ingredients.
However, substances used in the protection of plants and plant products, flavorings and substances added as nutrients (e.g., minerals, trace elements or vitamins) do not need to be included in the ingredient list. Because of this, some substances that are regulated as food additives in other countries may be exempt from the food additive definition in the EU.

Additives which are ALWAYS of animal origin, such as (HARAM):
-E120 Cochineal : a red colour obtained from female insects
-E441 Gelatine : derived from the bones and/ or hides of cattle and/ or pigs
-E542 Edible Bone Phosphate : an extract from animal bones
-E904 Shellac : a resin from the lac insect

Whilst some additives with a common code such as E47, can be either of animal or plant origin and this latter type needs to be investigated on a case-by-case basis per product/ manufacturer.

The main additives you need to be aware of are:
-Glycerol / Glycerin / Glycerine (E422) – haram if obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources.
-Emulsifiers (E470 to E483) – haram if obtained from pork or non-halal sources.
-Edible Bone Phosphate (E542) – haram if obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources.

Non-halal

Halal Status E-Number Name Description Date
haram E120 Cochineal / Carminic Acid Color Obtained from insects. All insects except Locust are Haram in Islam. 09/28/05
haram E124 Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A Color Cochineal Red A is a Haram Color. Ponceau 4R is a synthetic color. It is Halal if used in dry form from Halal sources but liquid form is Halal if Halal solvents are used 09/28/05
haram E354 Calcium Tartrate It is the by-product of wine making in many countries but in USA and Canada Tartrate or Tartaric acid is made from unfermented crushed grapes. 06/14/11
haram E951 Aspartane A synthetic sweetener but alcohol is used during it processing 02/28/16
haram E999 Quillaia Extract Soap bark tree but extract is extracted with alcohol. 06/14/11

Mushbooh or unknown

Halal Status E-Number Name Description Date
unknown 1101 Protease Enzyme Protease enzyme has E-Number 1101 which can by obtained from animal or plant. A Green Dot on the package of food product in India indicate it is from plant. A Halal or Kosher symbol on food product in USA/Canada containing protease enzyme indicates it is from plant source and Halal. 09/18/15
unknown E- 319 Tert-Butylhydroquinone (TBHQ) TBHQ is not available in 100% form and it has to have a carrier for mixing purpose. If it has vegetable oil as a carrier then it is Halal. If it has animal based fat then it is not Halal may be Haram if pork fat is used. TBHQ is a chemical, in its 100% form without carrier it is Halal. 08/15/13
unknown E100 Curcumin/Turmeric Color Halal only if they are 100% but in food industry they are not available 100% but made with fat based emulsifiers such as Polysorbate 80 09/28/05
unknown E101 Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) Color Halal if it is made from synthetic source otherwise need investigation for it source 09/28/05
unknown E103 Chrysoine Resocinol This is coloring E-Number but Halal only if the solvents are Halal. It is obtained from a plant. 09/28/05
unknown E104 Quinoline Yellow Color It is a chemical dye and Halal if used as dry powder. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvent was used 09/28/05
unknown E105 Fast Yellow AB It is a chemical dye and Halal if used as dry powder. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvent was used. It is forbidden in USA & Europe. 09/28/05
unknown E122 Carmoisine / Azorubine Color It is chemical dye and Halal if use as a powder. Liquid Color is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. It is used in fermented heated food products which may not be Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E123 Amaranth Dye Color It is Dry form petroleum base. It is Halal if use as a powder dye. Liquid dye is Halal only if only Halal solvents are used. 09/28/05
unknown E127 Erythrosine BS Color It is a chemical dye Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. 09/28/05
unknown E128 Red 2G Colors It is a chemical dye, Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. 09/28/05
unknown E131 Patent Blue V Color It is a chemical dye Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. 09/28/05
unknown E132 Indigo Carmine / Idigotine Color It is used to be extracted from plant but now it is synthetically produced and It is Halal if synthetically produced from Halal sources. Liquid for requires solvent, liquid for is Halal only if Halal solvent are used. 09/28/05
unknown E140 Chlorophyll Color It is a plant pigment and Halal only if extracting solvents are Halal not alcohol. 09/28/05
unknown E141 Copper Complex of Chlorophyll Color It is a plant pigment and Halal only if extracting solvents are Halal not alcohol. 09/28/05
unknown E1410 Mono starch Phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E1412 Distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E1413 Phosphated sistarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E1422 Acetylated distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E1442 Hydroxy propyl distarch phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E155 Brown HT Colors It is a synthetic coal tar diazo dye. It is Halal if used as powder. Liquid Brown HT is Halal only if the solvents are Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E160a Alpha, Beta, Gamma Carotene Color – Carotene Carotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef. 09/28/05
unknown E160d Lycopene Color – Carotene Lycopne is a bright red carotene and carotenoid obtained from tomato and other red fruit and vegetables. It is not soluble in water but dissolve in oil and organic solvents. It is Halal if dissolve in oil and mushbooh when dissolve in organic solvents. 09/28/05
unknown E160e Beta-apo-8-carotenal Color – Carotene arotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef. 09/28/05
unknown E160f Ethyl ester of Beta-apo-8-cartonoic acid Color – Carotene arotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef. 09/28/05
unknown E161a Flavoxanthin Color It is a natural pigment. Halal status is depend upon (a) what extracting material used to obtained the pigment (2) what solvent used for its liquid form. 09/28/05
unknown E161b Lutein Color Lutein is xanthophyll carotene. It is present in plant as fatty acid ester. It is extrcted from marigold petals. Its Halal status depend upon the Halal status of extracting chemicals, if it is extracted by alcohol then it is not Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E161c Cryptoxanthin Color Cryptoxanthin is a natural carotene pigment and it is found in petal of flower of plants. Its Halal status depend upon the Halal status of extracting chemicals, if it is extracted by alcohol then it is not Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E161d Rubixanthin Color Rubixanthin is a xanthophyl pigment of plants. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form. 09/28/05
unknown E161e Violaxanthin Color violaxanthin is a xanthophyl pigment of plants. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form. 09/28/05
unknown E161f Rhodoxanthin Color Rhodoxanthin is a xanthophyl pigment of plants. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form. 09/28/05
unknown E161g Canthaxanthin Color Canthaxanthin is a carotene pigment of plants. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form. 09/28/05
unknown E162 Beetroot Red / Betanin Color Beetroot Red is a food dye extracted from beet or beet juice. Its Halal status is depend upon extracting chemicals and solvents used in its liquid form. 09/28/05
unknown E180 Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BK Color – It is synthetic Azo dye. It is Halal if used as a powder but it is mushbooh if used in liquid form because solvent has to be Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E304 Ascorbyl Palmitate Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives. It is a ester formed by reacting palmitic acid(fat source)and ascorbic acid(vitamin C). It is Halal only if the palmitic acid is obtained from plant fat such as soy fat. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label indicates that palmitic acid is from vegetable fat. 09/28/05
unknown E306 Antioxidants- Vitamin E If the Tocopherols(vitamin E) is from plant fat then it is Halal. It is a antioxidant. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that it is obtained from vegetable fat or oil. 09/28/05
unknown E320 Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA) Antioxidants- Preservative It is Halal only if vegetable oil is used as a carrier because it is not available in 100% form. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. 09/28/05
unknown E321 Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT) Antioxidants- Preservative It is Halal only if vegetable oil is used as a carrier because it is not available in 100% form. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. 09/28/05
unknown E334 Tartaric Acid Miscellaneous – Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E335 Sodium Tartrates Miscellaneous – Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E336 Potassium Tartrates (Cream of Tartar) Miscellaneous – Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E337 Potassium Sodium Tartrates Miscellaneous – Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E339 Sodium Phosphates Miscellaneous – Phosphoric Acid and its Salts. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E340 Potassium Phosphates Miscellaneous – Phosphoric Acid and its Salts. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E341 Calcium Phosphates Miscellaneous – Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E343 Magnesium phosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E356 Sodium adipate Sodium adipate is the sodium salt of adipic acid which is obtained by the oxidation of fat. If it is obtained from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is obtained from pork fat tehn it is Haram. 06/14/11
unknown E357 Potassium adipate Potassiumadipate is the potassium salt of adipic acid which is obtained by the oxidation of fat. If it is obtained from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is obtained from pork fat tehn it is Haram. 06/14/11
unknown E407 Carrageenan It is a seaweed gum. If Ethyl Alcohol is used then it is not Halal, if Isopropyl Alcohol used and taken out completely or Potassium Chloride or nothing above is used during it processing then it is Halal. 12/09/15
unknown E422 Glycerol Glycerol is a polyol obtained from fats and oil. It is Halal if it obtained from oils or soy fat. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable oil or fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E430 Polyoxyethane (8) Stearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E431 Polyoxyethane (40) Stearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E432 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan / Polysorbate 20 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E433 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Mono-oleate / Polysorbate 80. Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E434 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monopalmitate / Polysorbate 40 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E435 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monostearate / Polysorbate 60 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E436 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Tristearate / Polysorbate 65 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – Fatty Acid derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E440a Pectin Emulsifier and Stabilizer – Pectin and derivatives. Halal if Isopropyl Alcohol is used and taken out Not Halal if ethyl alcohol is used. 12/09/15
unknown E440b Amidated Pectin Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – Pectin and derivatives. Halal if Isopropyl Alcohol is used and taken out Not Halal if ethyl alcohol is used. 12/09/15
unknown E441 Gelatin Gelatin from Zabiha slaughtered beef and fish source is considered Halal. Gelatin from pork is Haram. Gelatin from non zabiha beef is not Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E442 Ammonium phosphatides It could be obtained either vegetable fat or animal fat. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from vegetable fat or oil. 06/14/11
unknown E450a,b,c Sodium and Potassium Phosphates and Polyphosphates Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E451 Triphosphates Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E452 Polyphosphate Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E470 Sodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E471 Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package “Suitable for Vegetarian” containing E-Number 471 then it means the E Number 471 is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal 09/28/05
unknown E472 Various Esters of Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package “Suitable for Vegetarian” containing E-Number 472 then it means the E Number 472 is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal 09/28/05
unknown E472e Monoand diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono & diglycerides Halal only if it is obtained from plant fat. If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package “Suitable for Vegetarian” containing E-Number 472e the it means the E Number 472e is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal 09/28/05
unknown E473 Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package “Suitable for Vegetarian” containing E-Number 473 the it means the E Number 473 is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal 09/28/05
unknown E474 Sucroglycerides Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E475 Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E476 Polyglycerol Esters of Polycondensed Esters of Caster Oil Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E477 Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E478 Lactylated Fatty Acid Esters of Glycerol and Propane-1,2-Diol Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E479b Thermally oxidized soybean oil interacted with mono and diglycerides of fatty acids If mono & diglyceride from soy fat then it is Halal otherwise not. If a claim “Suitable for Vegetarian” on the food package containing E479b, it means the mono & diglycerides are obtained from vegetable fat. 06/14/11
unknown E481 Sodium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E482 Calcium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E483 Stearyl Tartrate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E491 Sorbitan Monostearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E492 Sorbitan Tristearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E493 Sorbitan Monolaurate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E494 Sorbitan Mono-oleate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E495 Sorbitan Monopalmitate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source. 09/28/05
unknown E496 Sorbitan Trioleate E-Number 496 is Sorbitan Trioleate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable fat is used as a source 01/26/15
unknown E542 Edible Bone Phosphate (Bone-Meal) Miscellaneous – Anti-Caking Agents Halal if the bones from zabiha slaughtered beef. 09/28/05
unknown E544 Calcium Polyphosphates Miscellaneous – Anti-Caking Agents. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E545 Ammonium Polyphosphates Miscellaneous – Anti-Caking Agents. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. “Suitable for Vegetarian” label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral.” In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E570 Stearic Acid Miscellaneous – other compounds. Siutable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Stearic acid is from vegetable fat. 09/28/05
unknown E572 Magnesium Stearate Miscellaneous – other compounds. Suittable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Magnesium Stearate is from vegetable fat. 01/04/14
unknown E620 L-Glutamic Acid Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of L-Glutamic acid is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. L-Glutamic acid is also obtained from yeast and yeast can also grown on pork fat media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website. 09/28/05
unknown E621 Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Monosodium Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Monosodium Glutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website. 09/28/05
unknown E622 Monopotassium Glutamate Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Monopotassium Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Monopotassium Glutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website. 09/28/05
unknown E623 Calcium Glutamate Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Calcium Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Calcium Glutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website. 09/28/05
unknown E624 Mono ammonium glutamate Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Mono ammonium Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Mono ammonium Glutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website. 06/14/11
unknown E625 Magnesium diglutamate Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Magnesium diglutamate is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Magnesium diglutamate can also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website. 06/14/11
unknown E626 Guanylic Acid Guanylic Acid is nucleotide of RNA. Nucleotides are commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal 06/14/11
unknown E627 Sodium Guanylate Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Sodium Guanylate is from vegetable source or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Although disodium Guanylate is obtained from fish or seaweed or yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website. 09/28/05
unknown E628 Dipotassium Guanylate It is a potassium salt of guanylic acid. Guanylaic acid is a nucleotide of RNA obtained from torula yeast cells. nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E629 Calcium Guanylate A flavor enhancer, Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of Calcium Guanylate is from vegetable source or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. Although disodium Guanylate is obtained from fish or seaweed or yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website. 09/28/05
unknown E630 Inosinic acid A flavor enhancer, IMP or inosine monophosphate is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which is mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Inosinic acid is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E631 Sodium Inosinate Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. In Europe if it is obtained from non alcoholic fermantation by bacteria on sugar or from sugarcane itself then it is Halal but if it is obtained from Torula yeast grown on alcohol then disodium Inosinate is not Halal. It is Halal in USA and Canada. Disodium Inosinate is used in Europe as flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is a nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in infant baby formula. 09/28/05
unknown E632 Dipotassium Inosinate A flavor enhancer. Dipotassium Inosinate is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E633 Calcium Inosinate A flavor enhancer. Calcium Inosinate is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E634 Calcium5-Ribonucleotide Calcium5-Ribonucleotide is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which is mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Calcium5-Ribonucleotide is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal. 06/14/11
unknown E635 Sodium5-Ribonucleotide Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. Sodium5-Ribonucleotide is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which is mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium5-Ribonucleotide is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E640 Glycine and its sodium salt Glycin is a amino acid obtained either plant protein or animal protein. Only plant protein Glycine is Halal or if a claim “Suitable for Vegetarian” appeared on food package containing glycine, it means that Glycine is obtained from vegetable protein. 06/14/11
unknown E904 Shellac Miscellaneous – Glazing Agents Glazing with Shellac is not Halal because alcohol is used to dissolve the Shellac and then evaporate before glazing on food products. Pure Shellac without alcohol is Halal because it is a insect secretion. 09/28/05
unknown E907 Refined Microcrystalline Wax Miscellaneous – Glazing Agents If alcohol is used then it is not Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E912 Montan Acid Esters Halal if obtained from plant lipid or fat. Haram if obtained frpm pork fat. Suitable for vegetarian claim on package indicates they are from plant fat. 06/14/11
unknown E920 L-Cysteine Hydrochloride Miscellaneous – Compounds used to treat Flour L-Cysteine from human hair is Haram. L-Cysteine from chicken feathers is not Halal. L-Cysteine from fermentation and synthetic source is Halal. 09/28/05
unknown E966 Lactitol A sugar alcohol, Halal if obtained from Halal whey or lactose. If animal rennet is used to make whey and lactose then Lactitol is not Halal. 09/28/05

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Categories

May 2018
M T W T F S S
     
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031